Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

AVR Development Tools v.1.21

Status
Not open for further replies.

assen

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Canada
Activity points
24
Thanks !
it was very helpful for me.

regards, assen
 

xilinx

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
76
Hi for every AVR designer
In all IDE for AVR Mc the Imagecraft is the best.search in FM1 for iccavr you can find ver6.22 with cr@ck it is woderfull use it and don't wory.
bye
 

GuruLala

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Messages
32
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Canada
Activity points
159
Hi,
I looking for A*V*R*co from E*-*L*A*B Computers
Somebody have some info or link please post me !

THANKS !!
 

eltonjohn

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
1,435
Helped
64
Reputation
126
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
16,328
There is also the GNU port of tools
for the avr family :
Look at avrfreaks.com
 

oldman

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
285
Image*cr@ft I*C*C*A*V*R it is really a great tool for productivity in simple to medium complexity projects. The generated code is acceptable in size and speed, but I*A*R code is better. I discussed with an Atmel representative and he told me that some of their firmware never worked with I*C*C*A*V*R but worked fine with I*A*R*E*W*B. It is up to you to decide what you'll use.

Both compilers can be found in FM (6.22B) or in other places. Search on this forum for details.

If you intend to use ATmega128, be careful to search for the latest version tools and a good flash programming utility like "PonyProg" (i.e. one that "knows" the changes/additions that Atmel introduced in this chip after ATmega103). BTW, "PonyProg" is free and allows you to program all members of AVR family on STK200/300 boards (including ATmega128).

My current setup:
- STK300 ev. board;
- ATmega128 in place of ATmega103 (I made the adapter myself);
- PonyProg for ISP;
- Image*cr@ft I*C*C*A*V*R as everyday IDE;
- AVR Studio (for debugging);

I intend to buy a cheap JTag debugger for ATmega128, but I'm still looking for a good deal.

OldMan
 

dacadc

Full Member level 2
Joined
Apr 22, 2001
Messages
146
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Ukraine
Activity points
1,101
I want ask. Who tested Atmega 128. I have engineer samples, JTAG emulator and want build simple board for testing. Have one expirence with it?
 

happyhua

Newbie level 6
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
6
who can tell me which is the best for A*V*R?
thx,good luck
 

admiral

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Messages
30
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
222
I have done some work with the E.S. of the ATmega128. One can say here that there is no difficulty or something strange. The micro interface is quite straight forward, basically like the 103. The JTAGICE seems to be working nicely although its not so fast.
Have a look at application notes and so on from A*T*M*E*L and others, you will find quite a lot on the net.
 

marie65

Super Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
198
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,506
A very good tool is also C/o/d/e/v/i/s/i/o/n. It's very easy to work with the peripherals if you use this compiler.
 

oldman

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
285
My setup (see the previous message) works fine and is cheap. You can find one (i.e. STK300) for about $70 (http://www.kanda.com). Replace your ATmega103 with ATmega128 and you'll obtain a simple development system. For the J-Tag debugger it might not work. I recommnend the newer STK500 that supports ATmega128 (including J-Tag support).
In my case, I've used ATmega128 as a faster replacement of ATmega103, but I intend to benefit from all its new features soon.

Regards,

OldMan
 

pixies

Newbie level 5
Joined
Nov 18, 2001
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
76
On 2002-03-02 10:19, oldman wrote:
My setup (see the previous message) works fine and is cheap. You can find one (i.e. STK300) for about $70 (http://www.kanda.com). Replace your ATmega103 with ATmega128 and you'll obtain a simple development system. For the J-Tag debugger it might not work. I recommnend the newer STK500 that supports ATmega128 (including J-Tag support).
In my case, I've used ATmega128 as a faster replacement of ATmega103, but I intend to benefit from all its new features soon.

Regards,

OldMan
Hi Oldman,

Sorry, but the STK500 doesn't support the MEGA128 alone. You have to add it on a daughter card (STK501) plugged on the extansion port of the STK500 and you can't debug with it. But right, The STK501 has a JTAG connector. It works fine but slower than others emulators and the number of break point is limited at 4. This is otherwhere the cheapest solution to developp on MEGA128, MEGA16 and MEGA32 or 323 and the future MEGA64.
 

oldman

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
285
You're right. When I mentioned STK500 for ATmega128 I considered "everything included" (i.e. all the accessories like STK501, cables, etc). Sorry for the omission.

OldMan
 

igni

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 29, 2001
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
26
I want to use stk500/501, JTAG ICE and atmega128.
When I set CVAR compiler atmega128 cpu, the program not running in atmega128/JTAG.
When I set CVAR compiler atmega103, the program running in atmega128/JTAG.
(The program identical).
Anyone help me?

igni
 

oldman

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
28
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
285
Hi Igni,

Here is my assumption (please note that I didn't use CAVR, but ICCAVR as a programming environment). I remember that I had some difficulties to set up everything until the moment I realized that ATmega128 comes in ATmega103 compatibility mode (see http://www.atmel.com/atmel/acrobat/doc2501.pdf). In this case, your environment might not be able to detect ATmega128 properly and it will assume an ATmega103. You'll have to configure your ATmega128 chip by programming the lock bits and fuses for a fully featured ATmega128 and maybe your environment will be able to recognize it.

I hope this will help. If not, I'm interested to find out how you solved the problem.

OldMan
 

sabeti_1990

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
195
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,215
Re: avr developloment

hi
the
AVR Developloment Tools v1.21.zip link is not valid
can U load it again
thanx :D
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top