Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Artihmetic Operations in FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

hitx

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi dear friends,

I am in a serious trouble with my FPGA. --- NLH --- (Need Lots of HELP!!). I am a newbie in FPGA programming . Now I have a equation like that : X(n+1) = 4*Xn*(1-Xn) . Some of you know this eqn. Anyway, Xn is in the range of 0<Xn<1 . With the initial value of Xn (e.g Xn=0.3) , I have to iterated this eqn (probably using a loop) till enough samples, then I have to store the all values in somewhere else :???: (FPGA memory, or ROM) . The problem is really big that I don't know what I need to do and How can I do. So where Should I start from ???

Note that all Xn values are float numbers . I guess that I have to convert these to binary. Am I right?

I am waiting your suggestions and help..

Thanks.

Best Wishes.

Why are they all float? thats 32 bits, and will use a lot of resources, and have a large latency. Does it have to be float? iteally you would convert them to fixed point, as these can be operated on like integers making life (and resource usage) much easier.

SO what code have you got to start with, and what help specifically are you lookjing for?

Hi dear friends,