Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Alternate to Atmel AVR Studio

Status
Not open for further replies.

garvind25

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
150
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,812
Hi,

I needed an assembly language IDE tool for Atmega8 uC to simulate assembly language code and see status of flags. I downloaded AVR Studio 7. But it is very bulky; even in idle state it is consuming 600-700 MB of RAM. Can anyone suggest an alternate lite tool. I tried Proteus but it does not seem to have a code simulator.

Thanks,
Arvind Gupta
 

pic.programmer

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
773
Helped
141
Reputation
284
Reaction score
140
Trophy points
43
Activity points
7,542
Proteus is a simulator. You can load .cof file to it and debug the application. The Watch window will show the values of registers added. Oshonsoft Simulators are another tool.
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

garvind25

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
150
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,812
Well ... just to be clear , I was looking for Proteus tutorial as to how to simulate an assembly code for AVR. Anyways thanks @ betwixt
 

ctownsend

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
575
Helped
93
Reputation
188
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Canada
Activity points
3,665
download avrstudio4. It is not bulky and works very well. I use it all the time.
 

FlapJack

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2010
Messages
400
Helped
102
Reputation
204
Reaction score
100
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
3,822
download avrstudio4. It is not bulky and works very well. I use it all the time.

I know that avr studio 4 is not being updated. What do you do about the new cpu's.
 

ctownsend

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
575
Helped
93
Reputation
188
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Canada
Activity points
3,665
Well you referenced atmega8. AVRStudio4 supports atmega8 and many more devices. I am not currently using any device that AVRStudio does not support.

If I do in the future there are ways around that.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top