Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[PIC] ADC code for AC Voltage sampling

Status
Not open for further replies.

rajalakshmiA

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi
I am using PIC32MX795f512l .I am new to this.. Anyone help me to find rms voltage and peak voltage for AC voltage as input for ADC

I am in urgent to close this ..

Hi,

First you have to specify a lot...
The most important is the AC signal.
* What waveform?
* What frequency (range) of the fundamental?
* Does it contain DC component?
* What is the highest frequency component of interest? Caused by typical waveform, noise, spikes...

How do you want to measure it?
An external, analog circuit for RMS to DC
Two extra circuits to catch the positive and negative peak voltage?

Or do you want a high speed ADC to capture even the smallest spikes?
...What processor do you have to calculate your data?
...Do you need real time data?

What voltage resolution do you need?
What time interval do you want for your RMS calculations?

Klaus

Do

Hi
I am using AC input of 50Hz .No DC Component.
I have Pic32mx795f512l microcontroller for ADC voltage sampling of AC input using ReadADC() function .From that i need to take samples at each 10ms of time interval and find peak voltage and RMS voltage.

Hi,

First you have to specify a lot...
The most important is the AC signal.
* What waveform?
* What frequency (range) of the fundamental?
* Does it contain DC component?
* What is the highest frequency component of interest? Caused by typical waveform, noise, spikes...

How do you want to measure it?
An external, analog circuit for RMS to DC