Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Active inductor simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

bicave

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
97
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,910
Hi All,

I'm simulating active inductor and see the value imaginary of Z in SP simulation. The sim results look strange and I don't understand where is the mistake in circuit or sim.
Pls see the attached.

It seems more than one resonant value, even it negative value.
could you give me advice ? or working active inductor. This is my first design follow some paper, I expect it works to understand more about aative inductor behavior.

thanks,
 

Attachments

  • circuit.png
    circuit.png
    31.6 KB · Views: 33
  • acsim.png
    acsim.png
    30.9 KB · Views: 29

rezaee

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
129
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,117
Hi bicave

I'm simulating active inductor, but I am newbie too , why you put capacitor between drain and source? are the transistors in saturation region?
 

bicave

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
97
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,910
inductance value is gm1.gm2/C, I add this cap for testing L.
 

rezaee

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
129
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,117
but I think inductance value is : Leq=Cgs2/(gm1*gm2)
and active inductor converts parasitic capacitance of transistor to inductance and no need to add external C here
 

bicave

Full Member level 1
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
97
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,910
Anyone know how to simulate gm, or just rely on hand calculation?
 

dgnani

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 25, 2009
Messages
425
Helped
160
Reputation
322
Reaction score
152
Trophy points
1,323
Location
USA
Activity points
4,007
Anyone know how to simulate gm, or just rely on hand calculation?

just use annotation of DC operating point or print function in analog design environment
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top