Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help on Verilog code

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevindog

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Verilog code about pulse generation

I am new to Verilog. Working on a project involving in pulse generation using verilog. Could someone else help me go through this code I got from web?

Code Verilog - [expand]
module pulse_gen
 (
   input        Trigger,
   output       Pulse_Out,
   input [31:0] Pulse_Width,
   input        Clock
 );

reg [1:0] trig;

always @(posedge Clock)
 trig <= {trig[0],Trigger};

wire ld_cnt = (trig == 2'b01) ? 1'b1 : 1'b0;

reg [32:0] cnt;

always @(posedge Clock)
  if      ( ld_cnt )   cnt <= {1'b1,Pulse_Width};
  else if ( !cnt[32] ) cnt <= cnt;
  else                 cnt <= cnt - 1'b1;

assign Pulse_Out = cnt[32];

endmodule

Another question is that this code generate a single pulse based on a trigger, if it's possible to generate a series of same pulse, like 5 same pulse sequence?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Last edited:

Re: Verilog code about pulse generation

I am new to Verilog. Working on a project involving in pulse generation using verilog. Could someone else help me go through this code I got from web?
That isn't a question, what exactly is the problem with understanding the code. Or are you expecting a line by line description of everything in the code (sorry not going to happen)? If you don't know the syntax then learn that first with the numerous tutorials on the web.