Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3-to-6 decoder task problem- behaviour definition, diagram

Status
Not open for further replies.

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
help with 3-to-6 decoder

a 3-to 6 binary decoder has an enable signal.When disabled or invalid code is applied to the decoder ,the decoder will output zeros.When enabled,input codes from 000 to 101 are decoded.Draw the block diagram of 3-to-6 decoder and define its behaviour using a truth table.

may i know how to do this question ?
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

Looks like your homework question. Did you gave it a try?
Let us know how far did you reach, we can help you out then.
You will not learn anything from ready solutions.
 

    funjoke

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
help with 3-to-6 decoder

this is pass year question.and i just know how to do 2-to-4 decoder.this one i really dunno
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

Ok. Here is the solution.
C(MSB), B, A(LSB) are the three select inputs.
ENABLE is Active high.
Outputs are all active high.
Last two input codes 110 and 111 are invalid inputs which produces 0 on all outputs.
Code:
+-------------+
| Truth Table |
+-------------+
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| C        B        A     ENABLE      Q0       Q1       Q2       Q3       Q4       Q5 |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| X        X        X        0        0        0        0        0        0        0  |
| 0        0        0        1        1        0        0        0        0        0  |
| 0        0        1        1        0        1        0        0        0        0  |
| 0        1        0        1        0        0        1        0        0        0  |
| 0        1        1        1        0        0        0        1        0        0  |
| 1        0        0        1        0        0        0        0        1        0  |
| 1        0        1        1        0        0        0        0        0        1  |
| 1        1        0        1        0        0        0        0        0        0  |
| 1        1        1        1        0        0        0        0        0        0  |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

what is the module definition of the 3-to-6 decoder?

Added after 1 minutes:

the block diagram is like that ?
this is the circuit i think

Added after 27 seconds:

the block diagram is like that ?
this is the circuit i think
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

What i showed above is the actual circuit using NOT and AND gates.
If Verilog module is what you are asking for, here it is
Code:
// 3-to-6 decoder with an active-high enable (E)
// and active-high outputs (C is msb and A is lsb)

module _3_to_6_decoder(C, B, A, E, Y);
	input C, B, A, E;
	output [0:5] Y;
	reg [0:5] Y;
   
	always @(C or B or A or E) begin
	if (E == 1)
		case ({C,B,A})
			3'b000:   Y = 6'b000001;
			3'b001:   Y = 6'b000010;
			3'b010:   Y = 6'b000100;
			3'b011:   Y = 6'b001000;
			3'b100:   Y = 6'b010000;
			3'b101:   Y = 6'b100000;
			default:  Y = 6'b000000;
		endcase
	else Y = 6'b000000;
	end
endmodule
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

write if only to describe 3- to-6 decoder

here i attached the answer for it and can help me checked and correct it if there is any error


(output reg[5:0] op_y,
input [2:0] ip_a,
input ip_en);
//*****************************
always@(ip_en,ip_a)begin
if(ip_en == 2'b1)begin
if(ip_a == 3'b000)op_y=6'b000001;
else if(ip_a == 3'b001)op_y=6'b000010;
else if(ip_a == 3'b010)op_y=6'b000100;
else if(ip_a == 3'b011)op_y=6'b001000;
else if(ip_a == 3'b100)op_y=6'b010000;
else if(ip_a == 3'b101)op_y=6'b100000;
else if(ip_a == 3'b110)op_y=6'b000000;
else if(ip_a == 3'b111)op_y=6'b000000;
else op_y=6'bx;
end

else if(ip_en ==2'b0)
op_y=6'b000000;

else
op_y=6'bx;
end
/*
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

Since ip_en is 1 bit you should use 1'b1 and 1'b0 instead of 2'b1 and 2'b0.
Why do you tri-state outputs when input is invalid? The question said outputs should be 0.

Here is the optimized version
Code:
(output reg[5:0] op_y,
input [2:0] ip_a,
input ip_en);
//*****************************
always@(ip_en,ip_a)begin
if(ip_en == 1'b1)begin
	if(ip_a == 3'b000)op_y=6'b000001;
	else if(ip_a == 3'b001)op_y=6'b000010;
	else if(ip_a == 3'b010)op_y=6'b000100;
	else if(ip_a == 3'b011)op_y=6'b001000;
	else if(ip_a == 3'b100)op_y=6'b010000;
	else if(ip_a == 3'b101)op_y=6'b100000;
	else op_y=6'b000000;
	end
else
	op_y=6'b000000;
end
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

but just now you gave that code is which part

now got 2 part for this question
a)module definition
b)use case only to describe it
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

funjoke said:
but just now you gave that code is which part

now got 2 part for this question
a)module definition
b)use case only to describe it
I am sorry I don't understand your question. Can you please re-phrase it?
 

daviddlc

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
260
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
USA
Activity points
2,709
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

mmm, this post has been already too long for a pass year question.....
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

daviddlc said:
mmm, this post has been already too long for a pass year question.....
I know right !! :wink:
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

// 3-to-6 decoder with an active-high enable (E)
// and active-high outputs (C is msb and A is lsb)

module _3_to_6_decoder(C, B, A, E, Y);
input C, B, A, E;
output [0:5] Y;
reg [0:5] Y;

always @(C or B or A or E) begin
if (E == 1)
case ({C,B,A})
3'b000: Y = 6'b000001;
3'b001: Y = 6'b000010;
3'b010: Y = 6'b000100;
3'b011: Y = 6'b001000;
3'b100: Y = 6'b010000;
3'b101: Y = 6'b100000;
default: Y = 6'b000000;
endcase
else Y = 6'b000000;
end
endmodule



i mean this one is module definition or using case to describe ?
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

If I get it right what you are asking. Both the module definitions will work.
You can either user "if-else" or "case". Your choice.
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

by the way what is mean by module definition ?>
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

can anyone explain with me what is the module definition ?
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,683
Re: help with 3-to-6 decoder

Looks like you are not very familiar with Hardware Description Language.
Read Verilog / VHDL tutorials.
A module is nothing but a circuit meant to perform a certain logical operation.
 

funjoke

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,772
Re: 3-to-6 decoder task problem- behaviour definition, diagr

if using for to describe it ,

here is my answer

integer i_position;

always@(ip_a,ip_en)begin
if(ip_en==1'b0)
op_y=6'b000000;
else if(ip_en==1'b1)begin
for(i_position=0;i_position<6; i_position=i_position+1)
if(ip_a==i_position)
op_y[i_position]=1'b1;
else if(ip_a!=i_position)
op_y[i_position]=1'b0;
else
op_y=6'b000000;
end
else
op_y=6'b000000;
end
end module

can help me check correct a not ,thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top