Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] 220V Battery Charger Design Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

vishweshgm

Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am trying to design 220V DC Battery charger. I have little experience in power electronics, but I have earlier successfully designed 112V,10A battery charger using SCR. The SCR charger took 140V,50Hz AC from transformer as iput and using half controlled (diode+scr) rectifier bridge and a capacitor delivered up to 135V 10A Current without any issues (Here is the simple schematic of working unit. Gate trigger is done using micrcontroller+pulse transformer driving circuit.

screenshot_249.png

With that confidence I am now trying to take up 220V, 60A project. 230V,50Hz rms AC will be input Considering huge current, I have to go for full controlled bridge rectifier for sure. Also there is no room to add capacitor after rectification, as I feel it will be very huge value and I cannot add 100A rated inductor to manage capacitor charging load (cost issue). Here is my planned simple schematic:

1640334399945.png