Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

coplanar stripline simulation in hfss

Status
Not open for further replies.

acidphreak

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello
i'm a novice to hfss please help me..
i'm having problems in designing co-planar stripline in hfss:

1) can't decide upon dimensions since there is no fixed rule linking dimensions and frequency of interest (1-12ghz).

2) the type of excitation to be given is still not clear.

3)since i'm using driven modal so differential excitation is not possible, but there is 2 strips of metal involved here so it would be better to have differential excitation.

4)since this cps does not have any ground plane so it is not of resonating type but still the s11 or s12 etc. graphs show sharp dips at certain frequency (implying it to be acting as a resonating structure!!).

5)its tx in nature so it can't be radiating also.

6)hfss 12 comes with a ε plotting function too, does it implies it is actually plotting the permittivity or it is something else? so for calculating we do not need to extract permittivity from s matrix using matlab??

would anyone b thoughtful enough to give the method to extrct ε from s matrix by matlab??

thanks in advance!!!

Last edited:

1) there are tons of literature and TRL calculators for this
2) Waveport
3) Use Driven Terminal...that way you get single ended and differential S Parameters. Driven Modal just returns the modal S parameters.
4) Your return loss will have 'dips' in it if is is any appreciable length relative to the wavelength of interest...read any Microwave text for more info