Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CPW dimensions design

Status
Not open for further replies.

ihcarp

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am a student and designing a branchline coupler using CPWs at 18GHz for my final year project.

In one of the threads i read that width of CPW is limited by excitation of a higher order mode whose cutoff frequency is given by the formula:

lambda_0/(a*sqrt(epsilon_r))=(2*G+W)

Can nyone give me some refernce or paper where this formula is proved/derived or used??

It would be a great help!!

Hello,

Here you go
[1] **broken link removed**

[2] Compact CPW Rat-Race and Branch-Line HybridsUtilizing Slow-Wave Structure
by Takao FUJII, Yoshihiro KOKUBO, and Isao OHTA

[3] **broken link removed**

Also use AWR TXLINE -Free transmissionline Calculator for CPW dimensions...
https://web.awrcorp.com/content/Downloads/TXLine.zip

---manju---

thanx a lot!!
i also wanted to ask if these effects are taken into account in ADS schematic simulation like if my dimensions increase beyond what is prescribed what kind of effects should this have on my schematic simulation?and how do i observe it?

Hello,

You may get warning messages in ADS schematic simulator as cirtain boundry conditions applied to these CPW closed form circuit elements...If so then you need to use Electromagnetic simulator Momentum to see the effects of these parameters....
By the way what are your CPW dimentions calculated..?

---manju---

basically in branchline coupler for Z0=50 ohm, my dimesnsions are
conductor width=598um
gap width=296.77um
length=1.744mm
This, W+2G=1.17mm