Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] 16x2 lcd display problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

niru005

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,336
my 16x2 lcd is working in a PIC development board with sample program of MikroC.
but same connection, doesnt work in my circuit. i dont kno whats wrong.

normally if power is supplied to LCD, dark square boxes will appear on screen. but in my case, i cant get that from my circuit. so, i took it as some kind of power problem. i get the power from a function generator. im using Variable resister for reference voltage pin.

do you have any idea to solve the problem?
 

Seetha09

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,361
Hi
Even I faced the same problem when interfacing LCD with some other microcontroller, Check the applied Vdd voltage to the LCD , check for proper grounding of LCD and have u placed a POT for the backlight adjustment if all these are proper then I think the problem might be with your code ie your code is being struck somewhere.
 

blunderboy

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,373
firstly only connect
pin 1-->GND
pin 2-->VCC
pin 3-->pot(10k) varying between vcc and gnd
pin15-->GND
pin16-->Vcc

The backlight should glow and after adjusting the pot...you will get black rectangles on one line...lower line
 

blunderboy

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,373
Yes you should probably tell us what lcd you have...atleast the name on the lcd...so that we can refer to the datasheet
 

niru005

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,336
my LCD is LMB162ABC

i think i have problem with reference voltage supply..
i set that as 1V-2V by using resistor and variable resistor..
and need to know the range of the reference voltage...
 

blunderboy

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,373
yes you need to connect a potentiometer(10k would do) at pin 3,
the input to that pin must vary from 0-Vcc...its the contrast adjustment
 

niru005

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,336
what is the max voltage has to be given to pin-3 by potentiometer..?
one of my mate says, the range for contrast adjustment is 0V - 0.7V... it means- 0V for high contrast, and 0.7V for minimum contrast. from the potentio meter we need to set that voltage to pin-3. is it correct? i ddint check it that.
Can we Ground the 3rd pin?
 

blunderboy

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,373
Niru just make a small connection...
do not connect your microcontroller right now.
just connect the power...
pin 1-->gnd
pin 2-->Vcc
pin 3-->potentiometer(10k) middle pin(potentiometers other pins connected to vcc and gnd)
pin15(anode)-->330 ohm resistance-->Vcc
pin16(cathode)-->GND

turn the potentiometer to see the effect
Check the datasheet of your device you will find these settings i have given above...
 

g_shyam1682

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
206
Helped
53
Reputation
106
Reaction score
43
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Udaipur-Rajshan-India
Activity points
2,550
Hi friend

I have experiance that
if data line is not connected properly then also this type of problem arise.
Check your data line connection between micro and LCD

Shyam,
 

niru005

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,336
thanks all for the valuable advice..

i have solved the problem..

normally potentiometer is used to supply reference voltage to pin-3... so we can adjust the voltage value of pin-3 by potentiometer. the voltage range of pin-3 has become 0V-5V..
before i thought we need to give high reference supply for high contrast..(for LMB162ABC). but for the high contrast, low voltage has to be given to pin-3. it should be 0V-0.7V.. ( 0V for max contrast, 0.7V for min Contrast).
i have grounded the 3rd pin with out using any potentiometer, and got the wright ans..

thank u all..
 

electronics rock

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,284
i have the same problem.my code runs smoothly but when i tested it on real lcd, no display is shown. can you help tell me the what's the problem?
 

bmn.ever

Newbie level 5
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
78
16*2 lcd

pin 1 -->> ground

pin 2-->> vcc

pin 3 -->> 1k resistor between ground lcd3.jpg
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top