Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

10kV Power Supply Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

cm_newbie

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new to hardware design. I had made some simple devices but I have now been asked to make 10kV power supply. It is supposed to be a high voltage, low current device 10kV and 3mA maximum. I am trying to adapt 5kV power supply I have got available. The 5kV uses two ferrite transformers to step up the voltage from 20V to around 2.5kV each. I tried to increase voltage on primary coil to 40V but it only gives ca. 4kV (i.e. 8kV total). So I decided to connect 4 ferrite transformers in series and power them from 20V on primary coil each. And after adjusting circuit on the secondary coils of ferrites I get... ca. 8kV maximum again... So my question is why does the second method not work? Is there anything I could adjust to achieve or would it be best to get new ferrites with more turns and just use two transformers?

Thanks

to see what happen, pls provide more detail such your schematic, your wire connection ...etc

to see what happen, pls provide more detail such your schematic, your wire connection ...etc