Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

understanding verilog code

Status
Not open for further replies.

exceeder88

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, im new to verilog. im trying to understand a code provided by xilink to create a multiplexer. the code is as follows:

Code:
LUT6 #(
        .INIT    (64'h0000000F003355FF))
selection0_lut( 
        .I0     (data_in[0]),
        .I1     (data_in[1]),
        .I2     (data_in[2]),
        .I3     (sel[0]),
        .I4     (sel[1]),
        .I5     (sel[2]),
        .O      (muxcy_sel[0]));

the ".I0" part, what kind of operator is that? didnt find any reference to "dot" operator.

don't know what you mean. .IO(data_in[0]) is standard Verilog module instantiation syntax. The dot is required for the port identifier in named port connection, review your Verilog text book or language reference.

I don't think you should use such code if you want to learn verilog (or VHDL).
You should learn to write more general code. The Xilinx mux code will not work for ASIC design. I don't know if it will work on any other FPGA than Xilinx.

You should describe the mux with a "case" statement, that will work in any technology:
https://www.asic-world.com/examples/verilog/mux.html

I don't think you should use such code if you want to learn verilog (or VHDL).
Agreed, don't use device specific primitives to construct structural code. Synthesis tools are designed to do that.

The Xilinx mux code will not work for ASIC design. I don't know if it will work on any other FPGA than Xilinx.
It won't work for xilinx parts that don't have LUT6 primitives.

Hi all,