Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I need help in VHDL. I am completely new to VHDL

Status
Not open for further replies.

vishal_sonam

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
How many D-Latches are generated here?

Code VHDL - [expand]
entity COUNTER is
port (
CLK : in std_logic;
COUNT : buffer integer range 0 to 18);
end entity COUNTER;
architecture RTL of COUNTER is
begin
process (CLK)
begin
if CLK =1then
if (COUNT >= 12) then
COUNT <= 0;
else
COUNT <= COUNT + 1;
end if;
end if;
end process;
end architecture RTL;

Last edited by a moderator:

Being a complete vhdl n00b myself I thought I'd do this as a test. First I though aha maybe a trick question and it's 0 latches. But it does look like a latch, what with the lack of clock edge, and purely depending on the logic level of CLK. I'd guess 19 latches, but I don't know enough about how the optimizer treats those MSB's that will always result in 0 values. Anyways, 19 is my guess. If you want the correct answer best wait for the vhdl posse to show up. ;-)

"counter" is defined as an integer with a maximum value of 18 ( "10010" ) - I'd say 5 latches.
To be sure, I suggest that you synthesize your code and review the result with the synthesizer's RTL viewer - Think of it as "Google Translate" for digital logic - only more accurate and without the curse words. Very important tool, especially if you're new to the language.

Taking it a step further...
Assuming that your code is targeted towards FPGAs - you're doing it wrong.
Latches are bad choice for FPGA's. To find out why - google: "why not use latches in FPGAs".