Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PCB Designer Needs RF Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjm1027

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am a PCB Designer of almost 30 years and have a question. The company I work for purchased an RF company and I have to support the Engineers in our group. I have a few designers working for me and I would like to get us all up to speed on learning good RF design practices. Can any of you tell me where to go to get some good information on PWB RF Design. Remember we are not Engineers we are PCB Designers. We need books that explain in simpler terms what type of shielding and via patterns are needed. If any of you know of books, Web pages or classes I would appreciate the information.

Thanks
Steve

Below are a few good books out of many.

If you are looking for a "cookbook" of RF PCB layout - it doesn't exist. If it did, I wouldn't recommend using it. PCB layout for RF should be done with engineering knowledge of the desired performance tradeoffs. There are a lot of "rules of thumb" that are followed blindly by lazy designers. Boards they produce are seldom top performers, and nothing of which to be proud.

A couple of good starters:

Signal Integrity Issues and Printed Circuit Board Design
by Douglas Brooks

Emc & the Printed Circuit Board: Design, Theory, & Layout Made Simple
by Mark I. Montrose

Printed Circuit Board Design Techniques for EMC Compliance : A Handbook for Designers (IEEE Press Series on Electronics Technology)
by Mark I. Montrose