+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    I designed a local oscillator with a frequency of 380 MHz. but I have a problem with implementation on the pcb. I tested my circuit using a spectrum analyzer signal hound 4ghz, but it didn't show output. I need an explanation about my oscillator circuit scheme and its implementation on the pcb.
    I use multisims and ADS applications for simulation. I use 2 types of transistors, BFP 420 and MPSH10.
    and i build air core inductor with 4 turn and 1mm wire diameter for 12nh and 6 turn for 100nh

    4 turn
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	11.2 KB 
ID:	153080

    6 turn
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.JPG 
Views:	45 
Size:	11.3 KB 
ID:	153075

    ADS simulation
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ads.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	46.2 KB 
ID:	153076

    pcb layout (i forget to mirror)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ultiboard.png 
Views:	9 
Size:	24.4 KB 
ID:	153081

    PCB circuit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bfp.JPG 
Views:	14 
Size:	38.6 KB 
ID:	153077

    circuit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	full.png 
Views:	19 
Size:	19.7 KB 
ID:	153078

    multisim simulation
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	multi.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	279.4 KB 
ID:	153079


    PS
    is it necessary for the amplifier buffer after the oscillator?

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,600, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,015
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,600
    Level
    17

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Here are some pointers regarding your project :

    1) the BFP420 is a fairly low voltage device. So even working at your 5v might have damaged it.
    2) the MPSH10 is higher voltage, but will not be able to give you enough gain at 380Mhz
    3) the cap C4 is suspicious. Why is it there ? Instead you should maybe have a biasing resistor to ground. Rough calculation shows around 1.8K-2.2k should be good place to start. Your current scheme will probably drive the bjt into saturation.
    4) Physically making very low value inductance is notoriously difficult. Your calculations do not seem entirely correct. In addition your PCB has very loose wiring - for high frequencies you MUST keep wiring length as close to ZERO as possible, unless you are using the trace itself. Note that a straight 10mm length of 1mm wire has L ~ 6nH, and a single 5mm diameter loop of 1mm wire has L~6nH. In your physical pcb circuit, just the loop formed by C1-L1-C2 would contribute a an additional 'stray' inductance of the order of upto 20nH or more. Stray capacitances are easier to control.
    5) for decent bypass, use a larger value of C7 - like 470pF or more.
    6) your base coupling capacitor C3 appears almost in parallel to the tank cap C1. So you have to minimise that, or factor into your calculations.

    I suggest you experiment with your circuit config for lower frequencies (i.e. higher values of L) until you get more experience.
    Last edited by kripacharya; 14th May 2019 at 16:22. Reason: add a point, plus typos.


    1 members found this post helpful.

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 29,208, Level: 41
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,237
    Helped
    1284 / 1284
    Points
    29,208
    Level
    41

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    The problem is your layout..
    It's too bad for an oscillator.Components should be SMD, the distances between the components must be short as much possible.
    You should use high quality SMD components, pay attention to Transmission Lines etc..
    You'd better research practical samples..You have to simulate your oscillator with its layout together ( Momentum+Co-simulation) because it will change too much thing..

    Also, an oscillator in simulations is not obliged to oscillate..Oscillator design is a kind of "cut-and-try"..



  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 4,325, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    648
    Helped
    163 / 163
    Points
    4,325
    Level
    15

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Hi,
    Spectrum analysers have 50 Ohm input impedance. Your simulations didn't contain it I think. Probably the measurement device overloaded your circuit and of course other mentioned reasons above can cause this issue.
    "Try SCE to AUX." /John Aaron/



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,600, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,015
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,600
    Level
    17

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Even with a 50 ohm termination the output should show SOME signal if it's working. A buffer is ALWAYS a good idea to ensure following stages don't load/ corrupt the signal. Since you get NO signal, I suggest you study my points and try to follow them



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 4,325, Level: 15

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    648
    Helped
    163 / 163
    Points
    4,325
    Level
    15

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Quote Originally Posted by kripacharya View Post
    Even with a 50 ohm termination the output should show SOME signal if it's working. A buffer is ALWAYS a good idea to ensure following stages don't load/ corrupt the signal. Since you get NO signal, I suggest you study my points and try to follow them
    I disagree. If the open-loop gain is smaller than 0dB of the oscillator with the 50 Ohm load it simply won't give any signal. I mean if gain less than 0dB at the resonance frequency.
    Last edited by frankrose; 14th May 2019 at 19:02.
    "Try SCE to AUX." /John Aaron/



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,600, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,015
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,600
    Level
    17

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Good thing then that gain is NOT less than 0dB. If it was, it would not matter what the load is - even100k would be irrelevant.

    So why disagree about these two unrelated issues?



  8. #8
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    1) but in the datasheet listed 2 absolute rating VCE, which one is used as a parameter for design? or maybe i used 2v 20mA?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kjdba.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	83.0 KB 
ID:	153098

    2)on the datasheet listed Ft 650 MHz, can the transistor still generate gain?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kjvsakjcajn.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	28.4 KB 
ID:	153099

    3) if you use a resistor to ground, does the type of biasing change? like using a type of biasing voltage divider. or just replace C4 with a resistor? do you mean 1.8K-2.2k is Rb resistor?

    4) ok i will try to use manufacture inductor, i bought 12nh inductor from coilcraft (https://www.mouser.co.id/ProductDeta...2uE6gMq6SrI%3D
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	16.0 KB 
ID:	153100

    6) is there a formula for calculating capacitive coupling? the reference that I read from Chris Bowick RF deisgn only explained the coupling, did not explain the calculation design



  9. #9
    Newbie level 2
    Points: 26, Level: 1

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    3
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    26
    Level
    1

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    i design for vce 1.5 volt and ic 17.3mA, is that would be damage the transistor if i give 5 volt?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kajdbkjvadv.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	153102



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 29,208, Level: 41
    BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    4,237
    Helped
    1284 / 1284
    Points
    29,208
    Level
    41

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Look at this layout, does it look like to yours ??
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vco.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	292.5 KB 
ID:	153103



  11. #11
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 8,877, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1,422
    Helped
    524 / 524
    Points
    8,877
    Level
    22

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    the layout is just too open - which is not helping - your gnd plane is not a gnd plane, use blank pcb ( full copper sheet ) and solder every thing above this - then you will be able to do very short connections to a real gnd plane - keep the wires short on all your components... - by the way - couldn't see the "12nH" choke in the build pic ...? missing ? also 4V max if you don't want to cook the xtor ...



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  12. #12
    Advanced Member level 4
    Points: 5,600, Level: 17
    kripacharya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    1,015
    Helped
    173 / 173
    Points
    5,600
    Level
    17

    Re: Help for my Collpits oscillator circuit

    Quote Originally Posted by bags View Post
    i design for vce 1.5 volt and ic 17.3mA, is that would be damage the transistor if i give 5 volt?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kajdbkjvadv.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	153102
    This seems correct.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It's better to choose device with fT much more than operating frequency. 5x - 10x if possible. MPSH10 is less than 2x

    Also - your mouser inductor is 100nH, whereas your critical LC tank inductor is 12nH

    - - - Updated - - -

    Easypeasy post#11 suggests using 'ugly construction' style - which is a great idea! But much harder to do if using SMD's



--[[ ]]--