+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 35, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    35
    Level
    1

    [moved] Area and Gate Equivalent in Leonardo Spectrum Report

    In the area report for Leonardo Spectrum it is giving number of gates under the label of area.

    But the area of an ASIC design is different from the number of gates. Then how are we supposed to calculate the area and the Gate Equivalents when only the number of gates is given?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (2).png 
Views:	6 
Size:	189.9 KB 
ID:	151234

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,224, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,923
    Helped
    339 / 339
    Points
    9,224
    Level
    22

    Re: [moved] Area and Gate Equivalent in Leonardo Spectrum Report

    Quote Originally Posted by NehaJain1234 View Post
    In the area report for Leonardo Spectrum it is giving number of gates under the label of area.

    But the area of an ASIC design is different from the number of gates. Then how are we supposed to calculate the area and the Gate Equivalents when only the number of gates is given?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (2).png 
Views:	6 
Size:	189.9 KB 
ID:	151234
    are you sure you are reporting area on a design that has been mapped?
    Really, I am not Sam.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  3. #3
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 35, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    35
    Level
    1

    References in Leonardo Spectrum area report

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot (2).png 
Views:	9 
Size:	189.9 KB 
ID:	151241

    In the above area report there are references mentioned as :
    12 x 8
    12 x 11
    4 x 8
    whose corresponding areas are 91, 131 and 30 respectively.
    How is this area derived from these references (if it is not just a simple multiplication)?
    Last edited by andre_teprom; 21st February 2019 at 10:07. Reason: [THREAD MERGED]



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,224, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,923
    Helped
    339 / 339
    Points
    9,224
    Level
    22

    Re: [moved] Area and Gate Equivalent in Leonardo Spectrum Report

    Again, are you reporting area on a design that has been mapped? What design is this, what library are you using? I have no way of knowing what these numbers are. 12x8?! 12x11?
    Really, I am not Sam.



  5. #5
    Newbie level 3
    Points: 35, Level: 1

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    35
    Level
    1

    Re: [moved] Area and Gate Equivalent in Leonardo Spectrum Report

    Yes, the design has been mapped.
    Still, how do we calculate area from number of gates?

    I have used scl05u library in Leonardo Spectrum.

    ………………….

    Here is a screenshot with the column labels.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-02-23 00-55-12.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	142.9 KB 
ID:	151266



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  6. #6
    Advanced Member level 5
    Points: 9,224, Level: 22

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1,923
    Helped
    339 / 339
    Points
    9,224
    Level
    22

    Re: [moved] Area and Gate Equivalent in Leonardo Spectrum Report

    The first column is the number of instances of that cell. The second column is the 'area' of that cell. However, area is given as a factor of something else. I believe this comes from the usage of scl05u, which is not a real library. It's more of a sample. The fact that a inverter has a size of '3 gates' is very weird.
    Really, I am not Sam.



--[[ ]]--