Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to add unisim and unimacro library in vcs simulation ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dharag

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am new to VCS, I am using VHDL DUT and system verilog environment for verification. my vhdl code uses unisim and unimacro libraries so how to include those libraries in vcs and simulate ?

Also what are the steps or commands to use this VHDL libraries in VCS ?

Just compile the verilog files under unisim and unimacro libraries into the sim environment. That should do I suppose..

Hello Sharath,

Thanks for your reply. I have mapped the libraries but error coming is of missing library components. So i think i have to recompile these libraries in xilinx and choose VCS as simulator. my query is does linux version of XILINX support VCS simulator and can compile libraries for VCS ??

Thanks in advance

Although I have personally not worked on VCS with xilinx,I don't see why it shouldn't...

dharag, If the xilinx compxlib tool doesn't compile for VCS then you'll have to manually compile the libraries. Manual compilation is not necessarily simple. I've had to do this on more than one occasion when the compxlib didn't work (crashed) on my windows machine. If you compile some of the files in the incorrect order you can see issues with reported missing components. Also make sure you don't forget to compile the glbl.v file if you are using the verilogg libraries.

regards

hello ads-ee,