Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC controlling AC loads

Status
Not open for further replies.

romel_emperado

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello.

since I started learning pwm I want to use it in actual application.. Im thinking about controlling AC load such as 230vac light..

MOSFET for DC and cannot use in AC application right? Can you give me some hint how do I drive the triac via pwm? I cant actually get some of the explanation I am reading now...

---------- Post added at 01:48 ---------- Previous post was at 01:40 ----------

okay I foud this good document from microchip.. its worth reading./.
**broken link removed**

and it has also a pdf.

Re: PIC complete discussion for all

Here are a couple more appnotes and TRIAC based projects:

**broken link removed**

Triac regulation using PIC microcontroller

PIC DCV Controlled AC Light Dimmer

Another excellent project to demonstrate the use on PWM is RC Servo control. RC Servo Control is probably simpler to setup and the RC Servo itself is rather inexpensive. Another plus is the visual gratification of directly controlling the position of the servo is greater than dimming a light. :wink:

If you are interested in RC Servo control, let me know, I have quite a bit of info on the topic.

Ciao

---------- Post added at 01:46 ---------- Previous post was at 01:38 ----------

The project in this video is a bit advanced for you at the moment, however it does demonstrate the power of RC Servo motor control, two in fact.

Neat! Huh?

---------- Post added at 01:56 ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 ----------