Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Doubts about ac and dc loadlines in the output characteristics of a BJT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tadde

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm studying output amplifier stages, specifically class A power amplifiers.

I though I knew the meaning of the loadline but evidently I'm wrong.
In the input loop the biasing determines the output curve of the output characteristics, right?
It doesn't determines the exact point. The latter is determined by the intersection of this curve and the loadline which, in order, is determined by Vcc, Rc (+Rload).
If I have a BJT amp with a transformer on output stage, with a resistive load connected at the secondary, it offers different values of the resistance at dc and at ac.
The resistance seen at dc by the output loop is the only little primary resistance (modeling the resistive losses of the primary), and in ac the transformer offers n^2 that resistance , where n is the loop ratio of the transformer.
I'm expecting a new loadline starting from the same point of the Vce axis (value = Vcc) and ending on the Ic axis in a much lower point, thus setting another loadline very different from the dc one.
My study notes instead, say that the new load lines rotates around the Q bias point previously determined by the dc loadline.
My question is: how is it possible that the ac loadline changes its intersections with the axes AND continues passing on the same Q point?
Thanks in advance