+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 1,892, Level: 10

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Helped
    27 / 27
    Points
    1,892
    Level
    10

    Why do we use VCO and not fixed frequency oscillator?

    Excuse me, the oscillators with fixed oscillation frequency usually have relatively higher Q factor, so why do we use VCO?

    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 5,440, Level: 17
    Achievements:
    7 years registered
    Old Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    480
    Helped
    68 / 68
    Points
    5,440
    Level
    17

    Re: Why use VCO?

    The answer is in your question.

    One is controlled and one is fixed.



  3. #3
    Full Member level 1
    Points: 1,738, Level: 9
    alexandr22061986's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    100
    Helped
    10 / 10
    Points
    1,738
    Level
    9

    Why use VCO?

    VCO used as a part of many circuits, for example PLL



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  4. #4
    Junior Member level 1
    Points: 1,892, Level: 10

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Helped
    27 / 27
    Points
    1,892
    Level
    10

    Re: Why use VCO?

    I think my question is not clear enough.
    I guess it is because tunable filter is not easily realized, we use VCO to get a fixed output frequency although the input signal is of different frequencies.



  5. #5
    Member level 3
    Points: 1,491, Level: 8

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    56
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    1,491
    Level
    8

    Re: Why use VCO?

    I don't understand you, know.

    But i think Old Nick's answer is Ok.



  6. #6
    Full Member level 3
    Points: 2,275, Level: 11
    Achievements:
    7 years registered

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hyderabad India
    Posts
    151
    Helped
    4 / 4
    Points
    2,275
    Level
    11

    Why use VCO?

    totally application specific



    •   AltAdvertisment

        
       

  7. #7
    Member level 1
    Points: 2,334, Level: 11
    rudane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    39
    Helped
    6 / 6
    Points
    2,334
    Level
    11

    Re: Why use VCO?

    Well I can give one example for you ... you have to understand mixing and intermediate frequencies to get it:

    I've just worked on a project where we used a magnetron as a source. The frequency drifts with temperature changes. The source is mixed a few times and filtered (A SAW filter, very high Q). If the source drifts too much then when we mix, the resulting signal does not make it through the passband. The only thing we could do was design a PLL with a VCO so we could change intermediate frequencies, which would bring the resultant back into the passband.

    Hope this isn't too complicated.


    1 members found this post helpful.

--[[ ]]--