Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How many shielding cases do we need for 5G PAMIDs

timer000

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone, I am a rookie in RF, May I know how many metal shields are needed when using multiple PAMIDs in a 5G phone?

Some layout guides mention that each PAMID needs a metal shielding, but I saw some design doesn’t follow it.

Regarding the metal shielding of PAMID, my personal guess is as follows.

Please correct me if I am wrong,

1.I thought that between TX signals, because the TX signal is strong enough (maybe 20dBm) 5G PAMID (whether it is LB/MHB/UHB), generally will not interfere with each other, (maintain the 3W rule)

2.But based on the consideration of heat generation when PA is operating, PAMID needs to keep a distance from each other (I personally think 9mm is a safe distance, but is it possible to have a shorter distance?

3.I thought that the meaning of PA using shielding is to block the cross-talk of TX trace to RX trace(including TX signal, IM 2&IM3 cross-talk and Vco-pulling) Is this understanding correct?

4.PAMID or other non-linearity components may produce IM2, IM3 between each other. After transmission, it interferes with the RX signal of another antenna’s LTE/5G/GPS through the antenna. This can not be blocked by shielding, and needs to be processed by filter or keeping the distance between the two antennas, Is this understanding correct