Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Steps of the ASIC design process

Status
Not open for further replies.

swetha.incore

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am checking on feasibility of giving an application as ASIC. I am a novice in this area.

My application does the following

1.Correct the uneven lighting in an image
2.stitch two images

What are the important parameters to be taken when considering an ASIC?

Thankyou
swetha

Re: TO be ASIC or not

That is a very broad question. The first question is to know how many of these chips do you want? One? A dozen? Fifty million?

Designing an ASIC will give you the cheapest chip to manufacture (small), the most flexible packaging options, the lowest power and the highest speed. It will also cost you a *lot* of money to design and to fabricate the masks. And you better get it perfectly right the first time, because changes are really difficult and expensive. Do not choose the ASIC route unless your market volume is high.

For low-volume designs you should use an FPGA (field programmable gate array). These are completely standard parts (e.g.: from Xilinx, Altera, ...)that you can configure to do what you want by loading a sogtware configuration. You can change the 'operating instructions' as many times as you want. It can definitely be programmed to do what you want. That's the right choice for low-to-medium volume.

A very general answer to a very general question

Thankyou. I am sorry for the generalized question,i do not know the process of designing an ASIC.