Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What to learn when switching from std cell or custom layout to analog layout?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kumar_eee

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,
I have 2+ years of experience in std cell layout design & custom layout design. I know that when we draw custom layout for memories its going to be really challenging as we need play with thousands of transistors. Here is my Question.. How the Analog Layout is different from my experience?. What are all the things that I need to learn if I want to switch to Analog Layout?.

Thanks in Advance..

Re: Layout Experience

hi,
There r random variations in devices ,once it goes from layout to fab .So need to be concerned abt minimising variations. several techniques r used for such.You can read Analog layout by alan hastings ,and can get numerous articles regarding this on web . ALL the Best.
Regards,
roy

Layout Experience

Hi Kumar...

As said by the previous post, a very good starting point (for the usual analog layout issues) is Alan Hasting's Art of Analog Layout.

To give you a very simple and quick start, there are two MAIN factors to consider when laying out analog (also mixedsignal) ICs: Temperature variations (gradient) and package stress (both of them across the chip).

As I said before, MAINLY you design focused on minimize the effects of that factors in your final product.

That's why, again, two things are key in analog layout: