Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Understanding three phase power consumption

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfacen

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I work on a shrimp farm as an electronics engineer, I dont have a lot of experience in power electronics, just wiring three phase motors required by the farm as aerators.
We have a big diesel generator 100 KW of power, today the grid went out and the gen kicked in, after all motors were back to running I read the following at the generator control board:
Voltage phase L1 to L2 = 220 V
Voltage phase L1 to Ground = 127 V
Current L1=157 A L2 = 161 A L3 = 160 A
Power 45 KW

I wonder how can the power be 45 KW total with that consumption.

hi,
your system is slightly unbalanced so you can consider the general formulas for balanced systems in star connection like below
**broken link removed**
with U=220V I ~=159A , so you have :
S= sqrt(3)UI= 60.5 kVA
P= sqr(3)UI cosfi = 45 kW => cosfi = 0.74 , not unusual power factor for only motors in the circuit... Still an improoved power factor of cosfi=0.82 would be better
For very precise measurement you have to get phase voltages and calculate S for each phase (since your system is slightly unbalanced )

your system is slightly unbalanced
I would rate 2 percent imbalance as "well balanced".

The current is well within generator rating, but I wonder if your plant doesn't have an automatic VAR compensator to improve the power factor?

maybe "slightly unsymmetrical " Come on FVM jou live in Germany , you like perfection :)