Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

TTL barcode reader, electric pulse

Status
Not open for further replies.

erpgc82

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello friends, I'm new to programming, but in 1 year I've acquired enough knowledge to make 2 firmwares and everything works accurately, and help from you here. I'm happy.

But I'm trying to accomplish a technical feat, a child's dream! Find out how this reader works and make it work!
:)

I work with access control equipment, which have a barcode reader. This barcode reader only has 3 pins, GND +5V and Signal.

The barcode reader reads when the code passes through the reader in a horizontal movement. Some things influence reading as an example: The speed at which the person will pass the code through the reader's beam.

The point is, I don't know where to start. I've seen in some manufacturers they use a normal PIC pin like RA2 example, no specific pin.

I think the reading is done by converting electrical signals into binary numbers and then converting them into a decimal number.

Someone experienced, could you guide me on how to "try" to start?

Thanks!

Basically, when the scanner passes a black area it's a ZERO and when it passes a white area it's a ONE. (Maybe the other way around, but you get the point). The fundamental assumption is that the scan occurs at a constant speed, so that you can determine relative high/low times; speed is irrelevant. Knowing that, you can infer the ONES and ZEROS from the stream of high and low data.

It's actually a little more complex than that, but this explains more: