Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

testing a transister

Status
Not open for further replies.

cobra974life

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
im not a expert at this stuff but im pretty good at figureing stuff out. so i quess im asking is there a way to test a transistor my power supply has two mounted in the back of power supply on a long thermal fin and the wires are red,yellow,and blue i believe these are the transisters that are making my power supply push 48v as soon as you hit the on switch it wont let me ajust it and with that many volts going through system i dont wwant to turn it on longer than a couple seconds dont want to burn anything else out so any help would be awsome thanks so much.

Most digital multimeters have a semiconductor setting (usually a picture of a diode). This basically will apply enough voltage to forward bias a transistor, so that when you connect the meter to the base and emitter (or base-collector) one way you'll read about .7 volts, and when you reverse the direction you should read a higher voltage, maybe 1.2 volts.

You can also just use the ohmmeter function, and see if you've got a low resistance path, say from collector to emitter.