Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Starting with S1.2 VNA and smith charts

Status
Not open for further replies.

alaios

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
I am training myself with antenna design (I am very new to this field) and I would like to train with VNA and S1.2 , S2.1 measurements.
I got a test board from a friend that has two antennas that end up to two sma jackets (so connecting to a VNA) will not be a problem.

I would like
a. To read more on S1.2 measurements with VNAs (including calibration). Do you have any good resources for that (I am googling it but I can find pieces here and there)
b. How to work with a VNA and smith charts to match both antennas. The idea is not just to get the smith chart but also to understand on what type of components I should need to add to make all the energy real. That means that I might also need to refresh my knowledge in matching (in the board I have there is space for matching components).

Thanks for your help and suupport.
Regards
Alex

Using VNA in antenna measurements is a piece of process.Antennas are essentially measured in Faraday Chambers with a reference antenna and all characteristics ( directivity,gain,side lobes etc.) are essentially measured in those chambers.VNA can only measure the Input Impedance of an antenna but chamber is a must for serious measurements.

VNA can only measure the Input Impedance of an antenna
The instrument can also measure s21 (or s12) of a two antenna transmission path in an anechoic camber (or on a meadow, if it makes sense for you).