Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SPI slave to parallel out - a little help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark Baseggio

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am currently working on a project with an old C64 SID (Sound Interface Device) chip. I'm using a Xilinx SC9572XL CPLD along with an ESP8266 acting as SPI master. The CPLD performs clocking of the SID, as well as conversion of the SPI data to the SID's address and data lines. While the code seems to compile/generate I get tons of warnings I can't figure out.

**disclaimer** In terms of experience with logic, I'm a "total noob." I've done my best with Google and researching examples available, but please don't beat me over the head and tell me I'm dumb. Because I already know that :)

I have developed the following code to receive data from the SPI master (note it sends 200bits at a time, which is all of the SID's 25 one-byte registers). As you can see the code stores the data like a ROM, and throws up a flag when there is data ready to read and put on the bus. Race conditions are not an issue as writes go to the SPI bus very slowly at 50Hz, so the CPLD has lots of time to write the register values.

Code:
module spi_slave(
    input ss,
    input sclk,
    input mosi,
    input read_en,
    input [4:0] addr,
    output [7:0] data,
    output reg data_rdy = 1'b0
    );

reg [7:0] data_in;  
reg [7:0] bit_cnt = 8'd0;  
reg [7:0] sid_reg [24:0];   // store all SID registers

assign data = (read_en) ? sid_reg[addr] : 8'b0;

always @(posedge sclk) begin
        if (!ss) begin