Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

rectifier with mosfets

Status
Not open for further replies.

luca89

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi to everyone , I am studying some new type of rectifier but I don't understand how adding this PMOS can increase the power available to the output .

diode mos.png

Why does your upper Mosfet have 4 terminals? Usually the substrate is internally connected to the source terminal and cannot be connected to ground like you show.
You have the gate connected to the drain so when the gate/drain and drain become 6V to 10V then the Mosfet turns on with a 6V to 10V forward voltage. But Mosfets have an internal diode from drain to source that will conduct when the voltage is 0.6V to 1.5V so the Mosfets will do the same as ordinary rectifiers.

Separate substrate terminal makes sense if the question is dedicated to analog IC design. You didn't tell.

In any case the circuit looks like a poor rectifier. Under the title "rectifier with MOSFETs", we would expect a kind of synchronous rectifier.

If the MOSFET gate gets the proper control signal it can provide the diode function with a much lower forward drop than a standard junction diode. This gives a higher output voltage and can avoid a heat-sink, even for high current levels.
The LT4320, for example, can provide those gate signals to give a very low-loss bridge rectifier circuit with maximum current limited only by the MOSFET on-resistance and current rating.