Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Passing pointers to void that do not work

Status
Not open for further replies.

tebron

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I would like to submit my question to you experts of c since I am a beginner and I do not know how to solve the problem. I have a function that takes as a parameter a pointer to void, I have to pass a value of one or zero to turn on or off a led. I tried the code below, but, even if the compiler is free of errors in reality the value in the variable bLed remains always zero. Can you give me any guidance as to operate the routine? Thank you
very much.

main(void)
{
while(1)
{
TaskLedUno((BOOL*)1);
}
}

void TaskLedUno(void *pFlagLed)
{

BOOL bLed;

//while(1)
{

bLed=*(BOOL*)pFlagLed;
pLED_1(bLed);
}
}

Your problem stems from passing a pointer to a literal, most compilers will compile the code without error, however depending on the OS, if there is one, will throw a access violation upon running.

Try this code instead:

Code:
main(void)
{
    BOOL flag = (BOOL)1;

// or
    // BOOL flag = TRUE; // if defined

while(1)
    {
         TaskLedUno(&flag);
    }
}

void TaskLedUno(void *pFlagLed)
{

BOOL bLed;

//while(1)
    {

bLed=*(BOOL*)pFlagLed;
        pLED_1(bLed);
    }
}

The code above compiles and runs without error and produces the desired result.

Ciao

Reactions: tebron

tebron

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Hi,
Is there a way to pass a value of 1 or 0 without having to pass a variable?

Yes, pass it by value, not reference.

Code:
main(void)
{

while(1)
    {
         TaskLedUno((BOOL)1);

//or