Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

microstrip patch antenna - IE3D Gain problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neil_Preston

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
IE3D Gain problem

Hi all,
I'm a student and as a part of my study I learn the IE3D program for antennas' simulation. I try a simulate an antenna with the following parameters:
microstrip patch antenna with L=W=46 mm, the probe feed is at (-17 mm,0) and there is also a shorting pin at (-22.6 mm,0) with a radius of 0.6mm. The patch lays on the substrate with dielectric constant of 4.3 and its height is 1.59 mm.
Now, from the manual of the program we know that
Gain=Directivity-Loss on Antenna-mismatch loss. The antenna loss includes the metal losses, the dielectric losses and the losses from the surface wave which decay as a square root of conductivity. In my simulation I've set the dielectric to be lossless and the conductivity value is 4.9e7. Therefore there should be no losses on antenna and the difference betweeen the gain and the directivity is only the mismatch loss.
However, if we take look at the simulation at the frequency point of 485 MHz, we can see that the gain is -18.1dBi and the directivity is 2.44 dBi. The return loss is -3.51 dB and thus mismatch loss is -2.56dB and we see that directivity minus mismatch loss doesn't equal gain.
I do not understand what's wrong with the simulation and would appreciate any help. I've also attached the geometry and simulation files.
Thanks,
Neil

Re: IE3D Gain problem

Hi, Neil: