Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Lumped-element oscillator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Agronski

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
lumped elements

I'm new to this world (microwaves) so please be gentle ;)

I've worked out a basic design for an oscillator:

-fc = 2.4GHz
-Colpitts, single BJT transistor (BFP520W, probably)
-Common-base, Icq ≈ 40mA
-5-10mW output power (more would be nice)

...now a couple of questions:

Is 10mW optimistic for a single transistor at this frequency?

All the capacitors and inductor values are available as surface-mount components, so can I build the entire oscillator on PCB using only those lumped elements, or will I have to use a microstip-match at the output?

If lumped elements are fine, what precautions should I take when laying out the tracks? (Or are there automatic routers that will do it for me?)

Thanks in advance,
_______
Agronski.

+oscillator+single transistor-crystal-patent

**broken link removed**

simple 2.4 ghz oszillator

Thanks for that - it's a helpful document, but not completely what I need. I've only just started using ADS, so simulating circuits is still a bit tricky. My PSPICE model of the oscillator runs fine, as long as I use a specific transistor - most of the other models for NXP BJTs don't seem to want to oscillate at 2.4GHz :(

What I really need to know is what's the best way to lay out a PCB? Can I just assemble it with large ground-planes and a 50-ohm transmission line output? If it's all surface-mount, I think I could get the whole thing down to about 15mm squared...

_______
Agronski.