Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

LPC21xx Memory Management (stack, heap, dynamic memory allocation etc) using Keil

Status
Not open for further replies.

nigh

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am a beginner level developer and until now I have been working on PIC18 & PIC16 using MikroC compiler. But now I am working on a project with LPC2138, an ARM7 based MCU from NXP, using Keil uVision.
The project includes GSM module interfacing, EEPROM, SD card, different digital (with I2C and SPI interface) and analog sensors etc. This may later include USB and Ethernet interfacing too (for which I intend to shift to LPC2378).
Well ... In case of MikroC, the compiler allocates all required memory ONLY at compile-time (a negative aspect of which is that the functions are non-reentrant) so I never had to worry about the concepts like dynamic memory allocation and heap etc.

Now with Keil, I started developing without giving much thought to memory management. Once I created an array of 4000 elements inside a function (local variable) and after compilation there was no significant change in used RAM space. This made me start wondering about compiler's memory management.
According to my current knowledge about PC high-level programming:
1. local variables: values are stored on stack and references are stored on heap
2. dynamically allocated variables (using malloc etc) are stored on heap
if above two points are correct and these concepts apply to MCU's as well, then my array would be created on stack and if there's not enough stack, there would be stack-overflow. Am I correct?