Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[PIC] Interfacing of PIC18F4550 with RS232 (UART)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SAMO6

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to serial communication.I am trying to send a string(characters) on RS232 to hyperterminal software. I have tried simulation in proteus but, it is not working at all.
Can you tell me what corrections should I do in my code? What are the wrong things in my code?
Plz, Help.
I am using PIC18F4550 microcontroller, MPLAB X IDE, XC8 compiler, 20MHz Crystal Frequency.
Below is my code and screenshot of proteus simulation:

Code:
#include<p18F4550.h>

void delay()
{
    unsigned int i;
    for(i=0;i<=30000;i++);
}
void main(void)
{
  unsigned char data,i;
  unsigned char s[]={"Hello"};
  TRISCbits.RC6 = 0;                        //Configure TX pin set as output (RC6)

SPBRG = 0X20;	           // Set Baud Rate (X value)
  TXSTA = 0b00100000;       //Asynchronous 8-bit; Transmit enabled; Low speed baud rate select
  RCSTA = 0b10010000;	// Enable Serial Port and continuous receive enable pin
            for(i=0;i<15;i++)
        {
         data=s[i];
         TXREG =data ;		// Data to be transmitted is loaded in TXREG register
          while(PIR1bits.TXIF == 0);             //Wait while transmit register is empty
          delay();
        }

}

RS232.JPG

I want to see Virtual Terminal window get opened when I start simulation in proteus. So, that I will be able to see data that I want to send to COM port in virtual terminal (In this case, I want to see "Hello" which I have assigned in my program.)