Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to read this code

Status
Not open for further replies.

amnakhan786

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I am a beginner in vhdl, struggling with vhdl programming. I am currently reading books and trying to understand code by other authors. i have to understand a code structure like this:

Code:
entity declaration

architecture behavioral of entity is

signal declarations:

signal(0) <= '1' when signal_1(0)='0' and signal_2(0)='1' else '0';
signal(1) <= '1' when signal_1(1)='0' and signal_2(1)='1' else '0';
signal(2) <= '1' when signal_1(2)='0' and signal_2(2)='1' else '0';
signal(3) <= '1' when signal_1(3)='0' and signal_2(3)='1' else '0';

inport <=  data_in and not signal;

signal_4(0) <= '1' when signal(0)='0' and signal_2(0)='1' else '0';
signal_4(1) <= '1' when signal(1)='0' and signal_2(1)='1' else '0';
signal_4(2) <= '1' when signal(2)='0' and signal_2(2)='1' else '0';
signal_4(3) <= '1' when signal(3)='0' and signal_2(3)='1' else '0';

inport_1 <= signal or signal_4;

process(clk)
do something here
end  process

end behavioral

my question is:

1)how this code will work, for behavioral part all statements execute concurrently, but signal_4 depends on signal so will second when-else would wait for signal computation?
2) how inport would be computed, concurrently or sequentially?
3)are all when else for signal computed simultaneously?