Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to drive a transistor into saturation in cadence (if its in triode)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khisha

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a newbie in both analog design and cadence. I'm having problem while simulating this simple single stage CS amplifier as shown in the diagram. Here, P1 is in saturation but N2 isn't. How can I drive N2 into saturation also. Please suggest me, what parameters should I play with.

The transistor N2 operates in saturation if and only if Vgs2 - Vtn <= Vds2, it means that Vg2 - Vd2 <= Vtn, Base on your lib, you can calculate the range of Vd2 (= Vd1) then you can set the value of Vg2 to ensure Vg2 - Vd2 <= Vtn.
Regard.

... How can I drive N2 into saturation also.

If V0=2V is the DC part of V1, this is much too large, should be in the order of Vth(N2)+Veff. Working with an inversion coefficient IC = 30 .. 50 , Veff ≈ 450..550mV .

Also, the ac part of V1, vo=858m is too large, I think. It overdrives N2.

Last edited:

Thanks ducvilla and erikl. Really appreciate your time. How can I control the drop Vsd of P1 in the figure (i.e. manipulating W/L or Vgs) or across a transistor in general?

Transistors P0,P1 form a simple 1:1 pmos current mirror.So,in this case you have the following ways to affect Vds os P1 :

1.)Varying the Ibias of the ideal current source,consequently you will manipulate Vgs as you said.
2.)Manipulating the W,L of the transistors that form the mirror.
3.)Changing the V1 DC potential.
4.)Changing the W,L of transistor N2.