Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to calculate AC power by cadence?

jerald woo

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm studying about a passive rectifier.
I designed the conventional rectifier circuit by Cadence tool.
When I calculated the PCE (Power Conversion Efficiency), I only get around 60%.
(I tried to find the optimized point, So these circuit parameters are pretty optimized.)

But many papers say this conventional rectifier has almost 80% PCE at optimized point.
So I think that the input power calculating might be wrong.
Unfortunately, I didn't consider the power factor between input voltage and input current.
(I didn't consider 'cosθ' in the equation of the first figure)

Now I notice what is the missing point of my calculation, but I don't know how to calculate it by Cadence.
Cadence calculator don't have functions for AC power or power factor calculation. (second figure)

Let me know how to calculate AC power by Cadence.
Or if there are other missing points, please tell me about it.

Thank you for reading my question.

passive rectifier.png
cadence calculator.png

I've seen discussions here about using Cadence software though I haven't used it myself.

Your list has an item called WaveVsWave. Could that item let you compare a voltage waveform with Ampere waveforms?

Or else you might need to eyeball an Ampere waveform and see whether it's misaligned with the voltage waveform.

Power is Watts. Watts is calculated as Volts x Amps. There are wattmeters which contain circuitry for performing multiplication. I suspect building a wattmeter project involves an op amp or two