Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with 32bit CPU optimization

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtaciano

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm designing a 32bit CPU as a recurring assignment for my university classes. Currently it can run a single program, the next step is to make it run multiple programs preemptively, with the help of a "operating system" that would overseer the other running programs.
The problem is that it seems that my current design is very volatile, since if I make any changes it stops working. I don't know what's wrong since I'm still new to Verilog and FPGA in general, but if I could get some help making my current design better I would appreciate.

I'm using Quartus Prime 21.1.1, my target board is the Altera DE2-115.

The main things that I could pinpoint with the help of Quartus is the fact that the biggest components that where slowing down compilation where the 'Registradores.v', 'ULA.v' files and 'Mux2 mux2_mod2' component in 'CPU.v'.

The other problem is not related to compilation time, but to CPU cycles. the method I'm using for halting the program does not work, using a 'halt' input in the 'PC.v', my guess is that it's related to the CPU cycles and how an always blocks work, so I'm checking for halt not on the same clock it happens, and then the PC increments like nothing happened.

here's my CPU

the 'main' branch is the one that works, the 'dev' is the one with the changes I'm trying to make.

Here are some images i think may be important:

The size of ULA.v:
ULA.png