Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Embedded system--energy monitoring & relay op using CAN Bus & Microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

arin

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello Experts,

I'm a novice in embedded systems.

I want to design an embedded system using CAN bus & micro-controller circuits.

I have a shelf where 10 laptop type devices are connected. considering that each device takes 1A on average, I'd like to put an energy monitor in the input of the shelf , whereby I can measure & monitor the current going in it. When an overcurrent is observed I'd like to use a trip relay (whenever the shelf draws more current than the rating of the relay) connected to the shelf.

The building blocks I see are AC input power, energy(current) monitor, relay, microcontroller, CAN bus, CAN bus to micro interfaces etc. detailed answers possibly with blocks/schematics & part numbers are highly appreciated.

thanks much in advance,
arin

Embedded system energy monitoring relay op using CAN Bus Microcontroller

Hey..

I want to buy a FPV system, and I was wondering what I needed to get it going with all the stuff I need to have a completed FPV system.

What do you recommend?

Re: Embedded system--energy monitoring & relay op using CAN Bus & Microcontroller

Hi,
regarding CAN bus you can have a look at this project and copy component, schematic and layout.
Also a simple CAN bus communication example was developed (here) for Tiva Launchpad TM4C123GXL.
Good luck!

Re: Embedded system--energy monitoring & relay op using CAN Bus & Microcontroller

Thanks Lucast85.