Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[PIC] dsPIC33EP linker file understanding problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

dhanraj.kmr

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All,
I am new to dsPIC and I am trying to understand a program given by my vendor.
I am using dsPIC33EP512MU814, MPLAB X, XC16 compiler.
I have few questions from the code.
I have an application project given by my vendor which occupies primary flash memory. In order to confirm this I had to check two things. 1. Program Memory [Origin = 0x200, Length = 0x555fe] from compiler output. 2. Total auxflash memory used (bytes): 0 (0) <1%. 3. From my application configuration register, FICD register is loaded to always go to primary flash memory location after reset.

My first question is related to this. When I check the linker file(.gld), it says my program origin is 0x200, but why is __CODE_BASE is pointing to Auxiliary flash location? I tried to understand more by googling it. But all of them are program = __CODE_BASE. My linker script below(Extracted to show important portion of it),
program (xr) : ORIGIN = 0x200, LENGTH = 0x555FE
auxflash (xr) : ORIGIN = 0x7FC000, LENGTH = 0x3FF8

__CODE_BASE = 0x7FC000;
__CODE_LENGTH = 0x3FFA;

.text :
{
*(.init);
*(.user_init);
KEEP (*(.handle));
KEEP (*(.isr*));
*(.libc) *(.libm) *(.libdsp); /* keep together in this order */
*(.lib*);
} >program
I assume that, at 0x7FC000 some bootloader code is there which can not be confirmed with vendor due to no contact.
So my second question is, is there any default bootloader loaded in Auxiliary flash memory by microchip?