Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] AXI burst writes - how is it done by embedded sw developers or what does it mean from the sw point of view?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dpaul

Advanced Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a logic design engineer and this question is bugging me a bit.

Consider the following architecture:
ARM Core with the ability to run some embedded C code (M) <--> (64bits wide data bus, S) AXI4 Interconnect (32 bits wide data bus, M) <--> (S)AXI2AHB-L bridge(M) <--> (S)AHB-L Slave with a FIFO

In the design the synthesize-able part is everything from the AXI4 Interconnect down to the AHB-L Slave. In the testbench, the prime component is then a AXI4 full Master that can read/write data from/to the FIFO either in bursts or through single accesses. Note that a bus-width conversion is taking place at the AXI4 Interconnect. Everything is working in simulation and I fully understand how the design is working.

Now this design must also work on the FPGA for the target design. So some embedded software engineer develops the firmware to read/write data from/to the FIFO.

Here comes my confusion: In the test-bench I have implemented a bust write is done by the AXI4 Master that fills the FIFO because it is the most efficient way to do it. But I do not understand how such a burst write or read is implemented in firmware.