Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1Watt RF Amplifier (Class A)

Status
Not open for further replies.

KEØBRS

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
1W_RF_Amplifier.jpg
I came across this RF amplifier on an internet quest and suspect that it was just the thing I was after. The schematic shows up in various website, but doesn't have any author I could find.
However, as a newbie, I thought I'd squeeze all the big juicy brains here to see what they think of my changes.

1. It will attach to output of a 25mW 150MHz NBFM transmitter (i.e. think stage/microphone transmitter)
2. It will operate at 9V--on a standard battery, not 15V.
3. I plan to change R1 from 39Ω to 22Ω to maintain about the same current thru Q1. (I'll use using a 1/2W Radio Shack version)
4. C1 will be 56p. I interpolate this as the "center" between 68pF at 100MHz and 33pF at 200MHz.
5. Similarly, L1 will be .66µH and L2 will be .36µH; given the inductor values for 100 & 200 MHz. (Coilcraft shielded versions will be used)
6. I plan to use a 2N2219A for Q1 -- well, just because I don't have a MRF227, but I have a couple of 2219s lying around.
7. C2 is just a 5-25pF variable trimmer cap.

Does anyone see something blatantly wrong... that will go poof or pop when I breadboard this?
The only weird part is that FD700 high speed diode, but I found one at Alltronics. In fact, I'm not even clear about its function.

Thanks all!

Pete
KEØBRS