Not open for further replies.

N_R

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am new to multisim and just started learning how to simulate basic circuits. I am using multisim 12.0.

I am trying to simulate a basic zener diode circuit and trying to observe the effect of changing the load resistance.
I believe this needs to be done using parameter sweep.
The problem I am facing is, in the parameter sweep window, I am not seeing my load resistor name in the drop down list of the component name I want to sweep. I am seeing r1:xrload, r1:xr1. r1:xr2, r2:xrload etc. At the same time, I am seeing that the present value of r1:xrload and r2:xrload is set to 5k. My load resistor value has been set to 10k in the schematic. Another peculiar thing is, I don't have any r2 resistor in my circuit. Could anyone kindly help me out regarding this? My questions are:

1) What are these r1:xrload, r1:xr1. r1:xr2, r2:xrload etc.
2) How is my rload value getting halved?
3) I have also looked at the netlist as well, and it shows 10000/2 there as well. Could anyone please tell me why?

I will really appreciate some help in understanding what's going on here. Thank you.

P.S. I have looked at the multisim forum and I couldn't find a relevant problem. The youtube tutorials also don't have such weird names in the name field.

I am attaching the screenshot herewith.

Additional circuit info:
Components used: DC_Power for voltage source, resistor_rated for r1 and rload, zener (virtual) for the zener diode.View attachment 156035

Last edited by a moderator:

Did you try a similar circuit from the examples folder?

Did the same problem appear with simpler circuits? Say, a resistor and voltage source?

Once you get a simple circuit to work, then add components.