Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Xilinx Impact gives error when FPGA is configured Via JTAG

Status
Not open for further replies.

auromira

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
idcode 00001111111111111111111111111110

Hi, when i try to configure my spartan II FPGA via JTAG Xilinx Impact gives me the following error.

ERROR:. +iMPACT:583 - '1': The idcode read from the device does not match the idcode in the bsdl File.

INFO:iMPACT:629 - '1': Device IDCODE : 00001111111111111111111111111110

INFO:iMPACT:630 - '1': Expected IDCODE: 0000000001100001100000001001001

Somebody!!!!
Help me........ please.

Best regards,
8)
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
00001111111111111111111111111110

Hello !

Did you set M0 and other pins to right mode?

Do you use serial slave, master... .... mode?

Did you set the device propertly in project properties?

One of the idea is, try to read device IDCode using Jtag.


Bart
 

auromira

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
xilinx impact

Bartart said:
Hello !

Did you set M0 and other pins to right mode?

YES ( MO-1 ,M1-0,M2-1)


Do you use serial slave, master... .... mode?

I use Boundray scan mode

Did you set the device propertly in project properties?

Yes

One of the idea is, try to read device IDCode using Jtag.

If i read the device IDcode it gives the same error



Bart
 

dingo

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2001
Messages
44
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
358
xilinx device idcode expected

Why are you trying to use a .bsd file and not a .bit file ?

I had the same or very similar problem several times but the solution was
trivial (in fact I don't even remember wht I did).
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
xilinx bad id code

Hmm....

I had the same error time ago, but I can't remeber what was wrong.

I will think about during night OK!

bart
 

papyaki

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
539
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,298
Location
France
Activity points
5,346
xilinx impact reads wrong id-code

Hi

I had the same problem with a 95108 cpld. Seems to be an early mask revision of the chip.

Is your chip a brand new one with a recent mask revision ?
 

KARLZ

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
158
expected idcode xilinx

well
it may be caused by one of the following reasons.
1- your spartanII device is an engineering sample (pre production sample)
2- it may use virtex bsdl file instead of spartanII
for more information you can check xilinx archive
regards
 

auromira

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
112
xilinx 00001111111111111111111111111110

Hi, impact Returns IDCODE different from the IDCODE In the BSDL file
Returned IDCODE :00001111111111111111111111111110
IDCODE in BSDL File:00000000011000011000000010010011
Could a faulty JTAG cable be a cause of this error .Impact correctly detects the JTAG Cable.

Somebody!!!!
Help me........ please.

Best regards
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
impact 583 xilinx

Hello !

After a night thinking about tjis problem, I had remember what was wrong.
I had a bad connection with FPGA board.

The Inpact did not show me any error when initialazing the chain, but when the programming started the error shows up.

P.S. I found this on xilinx site

http://support.xilinx.com/xlnx/xil_ans_display.jsp?iLanguageID=1&iCountryID=1&getPagePath=13529

http://support.xilinx.com/xlnx/xil_ans_display.jsp?iLanguageID=1&iCountryID=1&getPagePath=12709


Good luck bart
 

mehrara

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
135
impact bsdl error

hi
I have the same problem with xilinx saprtan II (xc2s150).
I connect the cable directly to boundary scan pins in the device through a test board. should I pull-up or pull-down any of these pins? if not what may be the source of problem in my hardware
I had configured a Virtex II device with the same cable and it worked correctly . (but that device was on an Avnet development board)
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
problem impact xilinx

Hi!

The ID error is also possible if you use ISE 5 or 4 for synthese and ISE 6 or 5 for downloading the bit stream. The problem is in the device bsd file.


Good luck!

Bart
 

mehrara

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
135
bit file impact

hi
I use ISE 5.1i for both synthesis and downloading the bit stream.( I also installed the service pack but the problem persisted) and I use XST for synthesising.did you mean that I should download the new bsd files from Xilinx?
p.s: I used the same software for cofiguring the virtex II.
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
mehrara said:
hi
I use ISE 5.1i for both synthesis and downloading the bit stream.( I also installed the service pack but the problem persisted) and I use XST for synthesising..
:not: I don't have any idea, just try to debug your JTAG cable
or instead of bit file assain to impact the device bsd file, you will find it in
$:/xilinx/spartan2/data/

and try to get the device ID.

mehrara said:
did you mean that I should download the new bsd files from Xilinx?
No if you use the same sw for synthese and uploading there is no need to do that.

Bart
 

dll_embed

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
112
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,095
Re: Xilinx Impact gives error when FPGA is configured Via JT

Most likely your cable is too long. Check the signal quality. Last time i encountered this kind of problem, i just shortened the connection.
 

mehrara

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 28, 2003
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
135
hi
the problem was due to my cable.
I used an old cable and it worked correctlly.
but I don`t know why I can not program Spartan II with a cable by which I have programmed Virtex-E!
 

shawndaking

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
187
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,077
Re: Xilinx Impact gives error when FPGA is configured Via JT

i Found That In Cable IV The Rate Need To Be Reduced To Configure
VIRTEX Devices And PROMs !!!
 

tpp

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
19
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
70
I also encountered this error (before this error It's ok), I checked as you did up , but the reason is software ,after I reinstalled the ise ,It worked ok again!, try it .
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top