Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why Plated PCB Mounting Holes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mayd85

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,504
Hi,

I am designing a PCB which will be housed in a metal enclosure. Is it advisable to have plated PCB mounting holes and connect them to ground plane? I have seen some PCBs where the plated mounting hole is connected to the ground plane through an RC network. What's the reason behind this connection? Is this done to help sustain ESD?
 

udhay_cit

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
341
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
3,838
Usually the metal enclosures are connected to supply earth. If any spark or high voltage wires are touches the metal part it will bypass to the earth.
 

mayd85

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,504
Do you have any idea how it is done in case of a battery operated system, where there is no earth? Like an automotive system?
 

udhay_cit

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
341
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
3,838
It may be used for signal shielding. It depends on the type of the instrument & area of application. Example... electric fence is a battery operated equipment but it still need earth connectivity to close the circuit path. If the battery operated instrument is having very sensitive amplifier or line frequency noise picking circuits, then it required shielding (Example ECG machine)...
 

mayd85

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,504
If I have multiple ground planes on my board, which ground plane should the mounting hole be connected to?
 

marce

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
2,015
Helped
623
Reputation
1,246
Reaction score
608
Trophy points
1,393
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
Activity points
13,954
Why multiple ground planes? are we talking analogue and digital grounds... without a lot more information we can only loosely guess an answer.
Then you get into the area of are these planes totally separate or do they overlap, is there capacitive coupling etc etc
 

mayd85

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
30
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,504
There are three ground planes. One analog ground, one digital ground and one power ground which are ultimately connected as a star connection. They do not overlap with each other.
 

marce

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
2,015
Helped
623
Reputation
1,246
Reaction score
608
Trophy points
1,393
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
Activity points
13,954
Yep, becoming more common again these days.
My view would be to connect it to the plane least likely be affected by any noise (the power plane) or connect it via caps.
henry Ott may have some advice.
http://www.hottconsultants.com/
 
  • Like
Reactions: mayd85

    mayd85

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top