Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

why my buck converter's output is not it has been setted

Status
Not open for further replies.

cesczhang

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
21
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
LA
Activity points
1,375
I have designed a buck converter, controlled by current mode PWM controller, the input is 3V, the max duty cycle is 90%, but when I set the output at 2.7V, it can only reach to 2.2V,
anyone knows it , please help,
thanks
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
276
Reputation
554
Reaction score
239
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
It might enter into drop-out region. Please try to increase input voltage to 4V and check the output again.
 

cesczhang

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
21
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
LA
Activity points
1,375
It might enter into drop-out region. Please try to increase input voltage to 4V and check the output again.
the chip can't work under 4V input, it was designed can output 2.7V under 3V input ,because the maximum duty cycle is 90%
the input region is 2.7-3.3. the output was not in oscillation, so the pole-zero location is in the right region, and according to simulation results.the opamp's dc gain is large enough, but the output was not which it had been set, it really confused me.
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
276
Reputation
554
Reaction score
239
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
D=VO/VIN is only correct for ideal condition. That means no Ron loss.
For actual circuit, power mos will have Ron not equal to 0.
For some dc-dc, the max duty cycle is 100%. Even for this kind of dc-dc, it will enter drop-out region just like LDO.
For 100% duty cycle, PMOS is fully on and NMOS is fully off.
 

cesczhang

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
21
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
LA
Activity points
1,375
I just find that the slope compensation range was too wide, maybe this leads the problem
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
276
Reputation
554
Reaction score
239
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
And pls increase current limit. Maybe it limits actual max duty cycle.
 

cesczhang

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
21
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
LA
Activity points
1,375
And pls increase current limit. Maybe it limits actual max duty cycle.
thanks a lot, and actually current limit is high enough
the other question: to avoid drop out, can we add a maximum duty cycle clock
 

RCinFLA

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
569
Helped
185
Reputation
374
Reaction score
182
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
5,566
thanks a lot, and actually current limit is high enough
the other question: to avoid drop out, can we add a maximum duty cycle clock
The limit is determined by Rs of switching device and Rs of coil based on current requirements. Achieving 0.3 vdc input to output voltage differential is very difficult.
 

cesczhang

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
21
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
LA
Activity points
1,375
thank,the problem is resolved
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top