Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the polarization of antenna?

Status
Not open for further replies.

danesh

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
im quite new to antena world, what i could understand is the polarization of antenna. I have trouble understanding it. eg if im designing patch microstrip antenna hw do i determine the polarization of antenna whether circular or else. Can any one explain in simple way for me to get it as the books confuse me.

thanks

e and h polarization antenna

Polarization is simple words is the direction of the wave transmitted from your antenna.

Usually the shape of your antenna is the main character to tell the polarization. If it's a plane surface.. It's straight polarization and a round surface such as for dipole give 360° poalrization. FOr circular microstrip the polarization is also 360°.

Picture it as a spring that u stretch. The wave travel from one point to the other end following the line of the spring

Re: polarization antenna

Hi

The polarization of an antenna, is given by the following definition:

The polarization of an electromagnetic field expresses the curve that the electric field vector depicts as a function of increasing time at a fixed point in the far field