Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] What is the meaning of "not synthesizable" in verilog?

Status
Not open for further replies.

iVenky

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
What is the meaning of "not synthesizable" in VHDL?

I am new to VHDL. I see that certain datatypes are synthesizable and some or not synthesizable. What do you mean by "synthesizable" ? Why certain datatypes are not synthesizable?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Given your previous post asked about verilog and you posted a load of VHDL, I assume you're refering to VHDL here too?
Do you have any types in mind? most types are synthesisable. The only main one that I can think of is not is type time and real.

---------- Post added at 20:39 ---------- Previous post was at 20:38 ----------

synthesis is the conversion of code to primitive parts (like gates and registers). Its more the behaviour of the code that is important rather than the data types.

Given your previous post asked about verilog and you posted a load of VHDL, I assume you're refering to VHDL here too?
Do you have any types in mind? most types are synthesisable. The only main one that I can think of is not is type time and real.

---------- Post added at 20:39 ---------- Previous post was at 20:38 ----------

synthesis is the conversion of code to primitive parts (like gates and registers). Its more the behaviour of the code that is important rather than the data types.

It's says higher dimensional arrays are not synthesizable.

Standard Logic is synthesizable.

I need some more explanation.

Thanks

I need some more explanation.