Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

variable millivolt source

Status
Not open for further replies.

hemnath

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
700
Helped
61
Reputation
120
Reaction score
57
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai
Activity points
6,566
I want to design a variable 0 to 100mV source. How to design. Please help.

Any reference circuit will be appreciated.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,925
Helped
14,335
Reputation
28,934
Reaction score
13,083
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
282,304
E.g. voltage reference, potentiometer, buffer amplifier. Or DAC instead of potentiometer for programmable.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,531
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,496
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,750
Hi,

what output load (impedance or current)?

What precision, frequency response time...


0V...5V and a resistor voltage divider?

Klaus
 

hemnath

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
700
Helped
61
Reputation
120
Reaction score
57
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai
Activity points
6,566
untitled.JPG

I have drawn a circuit . Will this circuit is good? any disadvantages?

- - - Updated - - -

untitled1.JPG

I have simulated in proteus. output varies from 0.00 to 100.00 mV

max load current will be 20mA.

Is this circuit works good?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
20,531
Helped
4,463
Reputation
8,935
Reaction score
4,496
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
135,750
Hi,

i´d use the second one with a voltage ref at the pot input.
And a capacitor at V+ input to avoid noise - especially during the pot adjust.


With this solution you always need a current meter to adjust. If you need some fixed values like: 10mV, 20mV, 50mV... i recommend to use a rotary switch to select them.

***
Maybe an advantage.
if you have a power supply with 5V for example you could use a 40:1 voltage divider at opamp output. As feed back use the output of the voltage divider.
Benefit that i expect is less noise, lower zero level (maybe 1mV). and additionally you could use a comparator with 4.5V to OPAMP output to detect overload.
It all depends on the used opamp.


Klaus
 

ravi1488

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
60
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
India
Activity points
1,656
You can design it using positive opamp amplifier circuit. What is your input range?
 

ravindragudi

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
172
Helped
51
Reputation
102
Reaction score
51
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,334
max load current will be 20mA.

Is this circuit works good?

I would suggest to use a precision voltage reference after the power supply and then feed the output from this to circuit in option -2 (with opamp buffer). As suggested in previous posts, capacitors will help suppress the noise which will can be nuisance in this voltage range.
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,284
Helped
2,141
Reputation
4,276
Reaction score
1,968
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
58,418
The datasheet for an LM317 shows that it needs input and output capacitors and a load current of at least 10mA. Since yours has an output fixed at 1.25V then its load resistor should be 1.25V/10mA= 120 ohms or the output voltage might rise with some LM317 ICs.

Your opamps are not powered so they will not work. Since their input voltage is close to ground then some opamps will need a dual-polarity power supply.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top